Sunday Special #3: my week in review

My very own homemade mushroom risotto

I hope you guys are having a fantastic weekend!

On Saturday I was out and about with my friend who was staying over the weekend. In the evening we stayed in and had a home cooked meal and watched a film. Today is another gorgeous day in London. Unless I go away for the weekend, my Sundays tend to be about running errands, cleaning my flat, food shopping (oh I love this one!), cooking and today is no exception.

It is also time for a new post from my Sunday Special series where I review my spending and update on any financial progress I have made so far.

Okay, let’s see what I spent my pretty pennies on this week.

Monday, 22 July
no spend day

Tuesday, 23 July
no spend day

Wednesday, 24 July
groceries -£3.75
personal care -£0.90

Thursday, 25 July
no spend day

Friday, 26 July
groceries -£2.44
personal care -£1.00

Saturday, 27 July
dinner at home -£3.50

Sunday, 28 July
groceries -£12.18

Total: -£23.77

My three no spend days are becoming a norm. Ideally, I would like to have four (seriously, I tried five and this was impossible so I am now more realistic), but unless I try very hard this seems to be a pretty difficult task to accomplish. Although I do not spend on unnecessary things like coffees, dinners out, take away, etc, I still find that I like to pop into the store on my way home from work and get a Milkybar or some biscuits (I’ve got a sweet tooth and I’m fortunate to be a UK size 10). The reason I do not buy sweets on Sunday and never buy them in bulk, is because they will be all gone the very same day! Seriously, I have no control.

My Sunday food shopping bill was pretty low this week. I still had food in my fridge (and freezer) left from the previous week as I attended two work events this week and as always enjoyed very nice dinner parties courtesy of the hosts. Next Tuesday I am invited to a horse racing event at Goodwood Racecourse to enjoy their full hospitality package, which means no cooking at home. I have to admit I am glad I get to attend so many fabulous events for free as part of my job, otherwise, this whole “no dining out, no going out, no anything out” experience could have been way more difficult to get used to.

As to bringing money in, I have not been working on this hard enough. This has to change though! I may start bringing in an extra £100-£125 per month by giving private lessons and I have got a couple of students extremely interested, but I am yet to finalise some details before this little project can take off.

How has your weekend been and are you on track with your spending?

10 comments

  1. It’s nice when you have a job that has those extra perks where you don’t have to spend money on groceries or eating out. I had two days last week like that because I worked on a set and they had craft services. The downside is that it’s not as healthy as I’d like and they have extra goodies I tend to much on during the day. Hello calories and sweet tooth! Congrats on all your no spend days!

    1. Thanks Tonya! I agree it’s not as healthy as homemade, but it’s okay from time to time. I’m more concerned about all this chocolate I consume on a daily basis! 😉

  2. Really nice job with the no spend days this week! We had a similar type of week, and it makes such a huge difference in the week’s finances.

    1. Thank you! I try to keep my spending as low as I possibly can. It’s easier in the summer as there is so much to do without breaking the bank. Well done to you too 🙂

  3. Happy Monday! Wow that was a successful week of not spending much money! Mine hasn’t been too bad, I spent around £30 on groceries just topping up fruit and veg etc. I did buy a pizza on Saturday night – from the supermarket though, so it cost £3. Not too bad! Your risotto looks delicious by the way!

    1. Thanks! 🙂 You did great too! I get my pizza from the supermarket as well, but I plan on learning how to make it at home myself. I’ve recently started cooking so it’s great to be able to experiment. Mushroom risotto is my signature dish 😉

  4. Congrats on the 3 no spend days, very impressive!!

    1. Thank you Steve! 🙂

  5. Great job on the no spend days! I always love it when those happen to me!!! =)

    1. Thanks Holly! I wish I had more of those, but for the time being I will stick to 3! 🙂

Leave a Reply

