Cutting Back

It has now been almost a month since I made my decision to get out of debt as soon as I possibly can.

Each day I try to think of ways to save a bit of money here and there which means I have to cut back on quite a few things. Habits are hard to break and sometimes my mind finds it difficult to accept the fact that some of the things I used to enjoy are now off limits, but I guess with time it will get easier. Here’s hoping!

I thought I’d share a list of things that I have now either cut out completely or cut back on.

  • I stopped buying magazines. I barely ever read them anyway and they are only useful for collecting dust.
  • I said “no” to coffee shops. I work in the City of London (for those who do not live in the UK, it is London’s Financial District) where there are plenty of coffee shops on every corner. Starbucks, Costa Coffee, Nero… you name it, it’s there! I used to buy coffee on average about three times a week. However, it’s one of the luxuries I can most certainly live without so I now make my own coffee in the office.
  • I make and eat my breakfast at home these days instead of buying biscuits/yogurts/cereal bars, etc in a shop near work. My breakfasts are now healthier and I sure don’t miss queuing at the till every morning.
  • I have started packing my lunch. I now cook at home (it’s about time I learn how to cook!) and pack (freeze) my lunches for the week ahead. In the past I used to go out for lunch which is quite expensive in London or get a “meal deal” from a shop (usually a sandwich, crisps and a diet Coke – not the healthiest option).
  • I haven’t been eating out lately. As previously mentioned, I now cook at home and it has been great so far. I have never had to cook in my life and I cannot believe how much I am actually enjoying it! I get new recipes off internet and make one new dish every week.

This is it for now. I am sure I’ll get to think of more ways to save money in my everyday life, and will share more in another post next month.

What habits did you have to break and did you find it easy?

2 comments

  1. When we decided to clean up our mess, we finally started using the coffee machine we got for our wedding. It was just sitting there for almost 2 years. We definitely cut most of eating out and I finally started cooking. So we pack lunch and eat home cook dinners. We don’t go shopping when we’re bored and buy junks. We have a separate shopping budget.

    1. Good for you, I’m glad you made use of something that has been sitting there for a while! I bet it feels as if it’s brand new! 😉 Ah yes, eating out can be quite expensive, especially in the city like London! I have recently started cooking at home myself and I have to say I enjoy it a lot! I’m only a beginner so I don’t make anything fancy, but I’ve mastered quite a few recipes, including mushroom risotto and vegetable lasagne 😉 Good luck to us both!

Leave a Reply

